Woman expanding her lungs and breathing fresh air
Woman expanding her lungs and breathing fresh air

HOW DO WE BREATHE?

 

Every time you breathe in, or inhale, your diaphragm contracts (tightens) and moves down in your chest. This causes the space in your chest cavity to expand, allowing your lungs to increase in size. As you expand your lungs, you’re sucking air through your nose or mouth, which then travels down your windpipe into your lungs. From there, the air passes through your bronchial tubes, before finally reaching the alveoli, which are tiny air sacs. Through the thin walls of the alveoli, oxygen passes to the surrounding capillaries, also known as blood vessels. The oxygen-rich blood from your lungs is carried through a network of capillaries to the pulmonary veins. These veins work to deliver the oxygen-rich blood to the left side of your heart. From there, the heart pumps oxygenated blood to the rest of your body. 

When you breathe out, your diaphragm relaxes and moves back into an upwards position in your chest cavity. As the space in your chest cavity becomes smaller, air rich in carbon dioxide is forced out of your lungs and windpipe, which is then released through your nose or mouth.

Your nose plays a vital role in your breathing as it is the main opening for your respiratory system. Your nose inhales air into your body through the nostrils. Your nostrils are guarded by cilia—bristle-like hairs which prevent particles from entering the nasal passages. A healthy nose will filter the air you are breathing in, so when it enters your lungs it’s warm and properly humidified. This protects the delicate lung tissue from cold, dry air and prevents it from being damaged by small particles like dust and pollen.

Many different factors can have an impact on your breathing, such as participating in physical activity or the quality of the air you are breathing. Both are natural physiological reactions you shouldn’t worry about. However, if your nose isn’t functioning properly due to illness, you’re likely to experience issues with your breathing that can cause quite a bit of discomfort, difficulties hearing and trouble getting a proper night’s sleep.

When you’re dealing with nasal congestion, a blocked nose, sinus symptoms, a stuffy or drippy nose or whatever else those around you may call it, what’s happening is the blood vessels in your nose are engorged, inflamed, and irritated. This causes mucus to accumulate that can be runny or dry. Other common problems include sinus blockage, or repeated infections, a deviated nasal septum, and narrow nasal and sinus passageways. A nasal spray is good for helping sinus or chest congestion, but they’re not all created equally.

To restore the normal function of your nose and relieve sinus congestion, try using an effective and fast acting nasal decongestant or nasal spray. Try Otrivin Sea Water Spray or Otrivin Medicated Nasal Spray to find a solution to breathe better quickly, with formulations made for both babies and adults.

Click here to learn more about Otrivin nasal sprays

NEED INSTANT RELIEF?

Otrivin is available at the following retailers.

Find a store

Une femme inspire profondément de l’air frais
Une femme inspire profondément de l’air frais

Comment respire-t-on?

 

Chaque fois qu’on inspire ou inhale, le diaphragme se contracte (se serre) et s’abaisse dans la poitrine. Cela libère de l’espace dans la cavité thoracique et accroît la taille des poumons. À mesure que les poumons se distendent, on aspire de l’air par le nez ou la bouche, et l’air descend dans la trachée jusqu’aux poumons. De là, l’air passe dans les bronches pour se rendre aux alvéoles, qui sont des sacs minuscules. L’oxygène traverse les minces parois des alvéoles jusqu’aux capillaires voisins, qu’on appelle aussi vaisseaux sanguins. Le sang bien oxygéné des poumons est transporté par un réseau de capillaires jusqu’aux veines pulmonaires. Ces veines distribuent le sang riche en oxygène à la partie gauche du cœur. Le cœur pompe alors le sang oxygéné vers le reste du corps.

Quand on expire, le diaphragme se relâche et remonte dans la cavité thoracique. Comme l’espace dans cette cavité est ainsi réduit, l’air riche en dioxyde de carbone est forcé de sortir des poumons et de la trachée, puis est expulsé par le nez ou la bouche.

Le nez joue un rôle vital dans la respiration puisqu’il constitue la principale ouverture du système respiratoire. Le nez inhale l’air par les narines. Les narines sont protégées par les vibrisses, de petits poils qui empêchent la pénétration de particules dans les voies nasales. Un nez en santé filtre l’air respiré, donc lorsqu’il entre dans les poumons, il est chaud et bien humidifié. Cela protège les tissus pulmonaires délicats contre l’air froid et sec et prévient les lésions que pourraient causer de petites particules comme la poussière et le pollen.

De nombreux facteurs différents peuvent avoir un effet sur la respiration, par exemple l’activité physique ou la qualité de l’air respiré. Une modification de la respiration causée par ces facteurs est une réaction physiologique naturelle dont vous ne devriez pas vous préoccuper. Cependant, si une maladie nuit à la fonction du nez, vous aurez probablement du mal à respirer, à entendre et à bien dormir.

Le nez congestionné, bouché, qui coule, ou peu importe le nom qu’on lui donne, et les symptômes touchant les sinus, sont le résultat d’un engorgement, d’une inflammation et d’une irritation des vaisseaux sanguins du nez. Cela entraîne une accumulation de mucus liquide ou sec. L’obstruction des sinus, des infections répétées, la déviation de la cloison nasale et des voies nasales et sinusales étroites sont d’autres problèmes courants. Les vaporisateurs nasaux aident à soulager la congestion sinusale ou bronchique, mais ils n’offrent pas tous la même efficacité.

Pour rétablir la fonction normale de votre nez et soulager la congestion des sinus, essayez un décongestionnant ou un vaporisateur nasal efficace à action rapide. Essayez le vaporisateur nasal Otrivin Eau de mer ou le vaporisateur nasal Otrivin médicamenté comme solution pour mieux respirer rapidement; ils sont offerts en formules pour bébés et pour adultes.

Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus sur les vaporisateurs nasaux Otrivin.

BESOIN D’UN SOULAGEMENT INSTANTANÉ?

Otrivin est offert chez les détaillants suivants.

Trouver un magasin