Family walking in a field where Otrivin can help with baby cold remedies.
Family walking in a field where Otrivin can help with baby cold remedies.

SICK KIDS? HOW OTRIVIN CAN HELP WITH COLDS IN BABIES AND CHILDREN


It is much more common for young children to catch a cold or get the flu than it is for adults, as they have not yet built up their immunity to the common cold virus. While most adults will get sick from time to time, most children will come down with a cold eight or more times a year. It’s the top reason why most children miss school or visit the doctor.

A cold is the most contagious in the first 2 to 4 days of contracting it and can remain contagious for a couple of weeks after getting sick. Most colds will clear up in about a week but try not to be too concerned if your child’s cold seems to be sticking around for longer. The flu is also different from a cold and may present different symptoms or stick around longer than a cold would.

Below is a list of different symptoms to help you determine if your child is suffering from a cold:

· Nasal congestion (also known as a stuffy, runny, blocked or dripping nose.)
· Sneezing
· Low fever
· Lack of appetite
· Sore throat or difficulty swallowing
· Cough
· Slightly swollen lymph nodes

When your child is sick, you will do anything you can to make them feel better as soon as possible. Unfortunately, there is no treatment for a cold, you just need to give them time and plenty of rest. If your child has a fever of 38 C or 100.4 F, a fever that lasts for more than 2 days, symptoms that do not get better and worsen, ear aches, or you feel your child has something other than a cold, you should consult your doctor.

Plenty of rest, lots of fluids and warm drinks will all help soothe your child’s symptoms and speed up recovery time. To help keep them comfortable, their room should be well ventilated and at a comfortable temperature. To avoid overheating, consider letting them sleep in just a diaper or underwear, but also make sure they’re warm enough. For those old enough for pillows, raising them can ease their breathing, giving them a better night's sleep, and giving them the rest they need.

Otrivin has products specifically formulated for the relief of nasal congestion due to colds or allergies for adults, but, did you know that we also have a product for babies? Otrivin Baby Care Nasal Cleansing helps children relieve their nasal congestion, while gently cleansing and hydrating their noses. It has a specially designed applicator that has an oversized safety tip to prevent it from being inserted too deeply into babies’ noses. This avoids discomfort and damage to the nasal lining. It’s a naturally sourced nasal spray, consisting of 0.9% sea salts from natural sea water. Otrivin Baby Care Nasal Cleansing generates a baby-soft spray with ultra-fine micro drops that effectively clears out mucous from the nose. It’s free of medication and gentle on your little one’s nose. For children 2 years and older Otrivin Natural Nasal and Sinus Cleansing with Sea Water and Aloe is a naturally sourced nasal spray that helps to gently soothe and moisturize dryness and irritation while helping to clear your child’s congested nasal cavities.

If your child is still showing symptoms after a week of use, you should consult your doctor.

NEED INSTANT RELIEF?

Otrivin is available at the following retailers.

Find a store

Une famille marche dans un champ, sachant qu’elle peut compter sur les remèdes Otrivin contre le rhume pour bébés
Une famille marche dans un champ, sachant qu’elle peut compter sur les remèdes Otrivin contre le rhume pour bébés

Les petits sont malades? Otrivin peut aider à soulager les bébés et les enfants enrhumés


Le rhume et la grippe sont beaucoup plus courants chez les jeunes enfants que chez les adultes, parce que les petits ne sont pas encore immunisés contre le virus du rhume. Alors que la plupart des adultes sont malades de temps en temps, la majorité des enfants attrapent le rhume huit fois ou plus par année. C’est la principale raison pour laquelle les enfants manquent l’école ou vont chez le médecin.

Le rhume est le plus contagieux au cours des deux à quatre jours suivant l’infection par le virus et peut demeurer contagieux pendant quelques semaines. Dans la plupart des cas, le rhume guérit en une semaine environ, mais essayez de ne pas trop vous en faire si le rhume de votre enfant semble persister. La grippe se distingue du rhume et peut se manifester par des symptômes différents, et peut durer plus longtemps que le rhume.

Voici une liste de symptômes différents qui vous aidera à déterminer si votre enfant est atteint d’un rhume :

· Congestion nasale (on parle aussi de nez congestionné, nez bouché ou nez qui coule)
· Éternuements
· Fièvre légère
· Manque d’appétit
· Mal de gorge ou difficulté à avaler
· Toux
· Ganglions lymphatiques légèrement enflés

Lorsqu’on a un enfant malade, on est prêt à tout pour qu’il se sente mieux le plus tôt possible. Malheureusement, il n’existe pas de traitement contre le rhume; seulement le temps et beaucoup de repos. Si la température de votre enfant est de 38 oC (100,4 oF) ou plus, si la fièvre dure plus de deux jours, si les symptômes ne s’améliorent pas ou s’aggravent, si votre enfant a mal aux oreilles ou si vous avez l’impression qu’il souffre d’autre chose que du rhume, vous devriez consulter un médecin.

Beaucoup de repos, de liquide et de boissons chaudes aideront à apaiser les symptômes de votre enfant et à accélérer la guérison. Pour qu’il soit à l’aise, sa chambre devrait être bien aérée et à une température confortable. Songez à le laisser dormir en couche ou en sous-vêtement pour ne pas qu’il ait trop chaud, mais assurez-vous aussi qu’il n’ait pas froid. Si l’âge de l’enfant le permet, utilisez un oreiller car l’élévation de la tête peut faciliter la respiration, ce qui favorisera une meilleure nuit de sommeil et procurera le repos nécessaire.

Otrivin offre des produits spécialement formulés pour le soulagement de la congestion nasale causée par le rhume ou les allergies chez les adultes, mais saviez-vous que nous proposons aussi un produit pour bébés? Otrivin pour bébés Nettoyage nasal aide à soulager la congestion nasale des enfants, tout en nettoyant et en hydratant le nez. Ce vaporisateur comporte un applicateur spécial doté d’un embout surdimensionné sécuritaire qui empêche de l’insérer trop loin dans le nez de bébé. Il assure une application confortable et empêche d’endommager les muqueuses du nez. C’est un vaporisateur nasal de source naturelle composé à 0,9 % de sel de mer naturel. Otrivin pour bébés Nettoyage nasal produit une douce vaporisation en microgouttelettes ultrafines qui dégage efficacement le mucus du nez. Il n’est pas médicamenté et est tout doux pour les petits nez. Pour les enfants de 2 ans et plus, le vaporisateur nasal naturel Otrivin Naturel Nettoyage du nez et des sinus Eau de mer et aloès aide à hydrater pour apaiser la sécheresse et l’irritation tout en décongestionnant les cavités nasales.

Si votre enfant présente toujours des symptômes après une semaine d’utilisation, vous devriez consulter un médecin.

BESOIN D’UN SOULAGEMENT INSTANTANÉ?

Otrivin est offert chez les détaillants suivants.

Trouver un magasin